Doors, Collectively Speaking

IMG_0799

IMG_0478Happy New Year! My husband and I spent a little time yesterday on a New Year’s Eve tradition we call dream casting. It’s kind of like vision casting, only it’s dreaming with God for what our new year might hold, turning the dreams into prayers, and writing down the themes we are seeing in a special journal just for dream casting. It’s not the same as goal setting, but it can turn into that.

During our dream casting session, we first review all the previous years’ prayers and themes and see what God has done. There is always a mixture of, “Wow, that happened! Hmmmm, nothing happening here that we can see. And stuff is happening, but there is so much more to come.” And sometimes there are seasons when God just steps in and does something so unexpected and completely off the radar, it’s radical! Because He’s God!

Another one of the ways I review the old year is by looking back at the photographs I took. One thing that stood out to me from 2015 was the number of DOORS I photographed. I wasn’t aware that I was taking so many at the time. I created a folder of these door photos and decided to share some of them and what they speak to me.  You can find them on my Facebook page under albums.

Doors are entrances, exits, portals, openings, and invitations. They can be simple or elaborate, tiny or humongous, high or low. They can be closed, locked, barred, left ajar, or wide open. They can be preceded by a pathway or a stairway requiring a protocol to enter. Some doors require a key or code to enter, some just a simple knock or ring, some multiple “hard knocks,” and others we always have complete access to enter immediately. To use a door always demands two things…to leave one place and to enter another. Doors both define and decide movement, although I suppose one could stand in a doorway and not move in or out, but what an awkward place to spend much time!

Some of the doors I photographed I admired from a distance but never entered or even approached. Others, I enthusiastically strolled through, still others I waited until an invitation was given to enter. Doors, whether entered or not, have defined my past year. My decision to enter some of them has determined where I am today.

Jesus once told a parable of a shepherd who entered the sheep pen by the door, not by climbing in some other way. The Pharisees didn’t get it. So Jesus had to spell it out for them clearly, “I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved and will come in and go out and find pasture. A thief comes only to steal and to kill and to destroy. I have come that they may have life and have it in abundance.” (John 10:9,10)

Another time, Jesus inferred that we are doors. “Listen! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and have dinner with him, and he with me.” (Revelation 3:20)

My New Year’s prayer for you comes from Revelation 3:8, “Because you have limited strength, have kept My word, and have not denied My name, look, I have placed before you an open door that no one is able to close.” May it be so for you in 2016.

2 responses

  1. Thanks for the inspiration, Janet. God seems to be saying something new is coming and I will be looking for that “open door no one is able to close.” A blessed new year to you and Larry. Love, Carol

Leave a Reply

