May I Have This Dance?

Image

He came rushing in

All breathless and brisk.

“May I have this dance?”

And lifted her wrist.

Surprised, she turned her face

Up to his hoary one.

“Aren’t you a little old

To be dancing for fun?”

“Oh no,” he chortled,

“I’ve been at this a long time.

I’m quite good, you know

And still in my prime.”

Before she could answer,

She was swept off her feet.

And went twirling midair

Not missing a beat.

Round and round they flew

As I stood there watching

Old Wind and Miss Snow

Became one in the dancing!

Leave a Reply

