A View From the Empty Nest

Welcome to my new blog site!  For my first entry, I have chosen a piece that I wrote back in January, 2011, which inspired me to begin blogging.  It’s taken a year and a half, but finally…here I am!  It is my prayer that you will be encouraged and inspired in your season of life, whether you are young and perhaps just starting your family or at the end of the the child-rearing season and looking back with a heart full of fond memories or maybe regrets and what ifs.  Wherever you are, know that it’s never to late to change your view.

♥ Early this winter, before the snows began to fall, I handed my dear husband a spade and implored him to dig up this tiny white pine that had sprung up under the shadow of one of our tall 40+-year-old pines.  When I first noticed it a couple of years ago, I thought it was just another weed poking through the pine needles, but upon closer inspection I discovered it was a “baby pine tree” coming up on its own.  I pretty much ignored it, thinking that it wouldn’t survive.  Over the course of the last two years, as I would walk by, I noticed it was still there and growing a little.  Late this fall, it occurred to me that in order for this seedling to come into its full stature, it needed a “space of its own.”  Under the shadow of the great trees, it got little sunlight and was not going anywhere.

In a flash, inspiration came swooping in, and a plan was forged.  The little squatter would be dug up before the ground froze and placed in a clay pot for the winter.  He would sit as sentinel near our front door, greeting our holiday guests and waving cheerfully at the postman, paperboy, and any other passerby.  In the spring his patrol duties will expire, and “Little Squatter” will be given away at a shower for some lucky bride-to-be or mother-to-be.  Grounded in a new environment with room to grow, he will flourish.

For now, he serves this empty nester as a daily reminder that no one comes into his highest potential under the shadow of another.  When given a space of his own, he will stretch out his cramped roots and head for the sky.  ~

Leave a Reply

